Example Site Message: Click to Edit/Replace Text

Hours of Operation: Mon - Fri 8:00am - 8:00pm




A JROTC Instructor from a Phoenix area High School asked why the NCOA did not have an award for the JROTC program as many of the veterans' organizations have. This resulted in three members, TSgt (R) Robert L. Bohach, SSgt (R) William A. Chambers, PGK, and CMSgt (R) Glenn E. Coy, of the Roadrunner Chapter No. 153 Glendale, AZ, creating an NCOA award for the JROTC program.

They received approval from the International Headquarters in 1986 to use the NCOA logo on a medal for the program. It took over a year to have the certificate designed, medal made, and bar ribbon and drape obtained. The spring of 1988 saw the first awards presented to JROTC cadets in Metro Phoenix High School at Unit Award Ceremonies by the Roadrunner Chapter. After being informed that the cades could not wear the award on their uniforms because of Department of Defense regulations, the Chapter petitioned the Department of Defense to have the award approved as a National award so that it could be worn on the Cadets' uniforms. This approval was received in September 1989.

The award has been presented annually to the Cadets in all JROTC Units in the State of Arizona by the Roadrunner Chapter #153 in Glendale and the Spanish Trail Chapter #118 in Tucson. In 1994, the Roadrunner Chapter was designated as administrator of the NCOA JROTC Award Program by the International Headquarters and the supplier of all the certificates, ribbons and medals used in the award program. Up until August 2010 volunteers from the Roadrunner Chapter administered the Award Program. In August 2010 the Roadrunner Chapter disbanded and the program was transferred to the Central Valley California Chapter #1551.

The award program continues to grow and during the last school year approximately 1600 award packages were sent out to JROTC Units of all the Armed Services and NCO Chapters worldwide. Members of the NCOA Chapters and Auxiliaries and Non Commissioned Officers and Petty Officers from all branches of the Armed Services made the presentations.



Edgar Eugenio-Badillo, Avon Park, Florida
Mary Klaire A. Jamandre, Stanton, California
Angel Newcombe, Mexico, New York
Quinn Matthew Noel, Coventry, Rhode Island
Jennifer Olivieri-Knox, Pueblo, Colorado
Maria Roxana Ostorga, Houston, Texas
Camille Reeves-Ahenkoran, Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Karen Nayeli Sanchez, Sedalia, Missouri
Miranda Wachtler, Pflugerville, Texas
Ethan White, Cocoa, Florida     


Zachary Bergem, Pinehurst, Idaho

Ty-Ontai Jackson, Mobile, Alabama 

Jordan Krueger, Merritt Island, Florida 

Karina Miranda, Sedalia, Missouri 

Mackenzie Marie Rosario, Clarksville, Tennessee  


Kathleen Mieloszyk,  Ironwood, Michigan

Jacob Dormam,  Round Rock, Texas


Sidney Bodin,   Battle Ground, Washington

Nicholas Lewis,  Albany, New York

Justin Petersen,  Kellogg, Indiana

Jordan Thomas,  Fort Walton Beach, Florida


Shaquana Adams,  Sandford, North Carolina

Tristan Adamson,  Orangevale, California

Carla Figueroa,  Kissimmee, Florida

David Latin,  Spring Hill, Florida

Terrence Moretti,  Osprey, Florida

William Tondo,  Southold, New York


Samantha Belanger,  Camp Humphreys, Korea

Selena Crew,  Fulton, New York

Angeleah Haseltine,  Wilmington, North Carolina

Amanda Owen,  Oswego, New York

Bryan Reheil,  Bensalem, Pennsylvania


Mica Allen,  Sacramento, California

Selena Chavez,  Citrus Heights, California

Kayla Faine,  Hartford, Indiana

Danielle Laing,  Burlington, New Jersey

Kaleb Martin,  Monaca, Pennsylvania